Bus Stop Interviews: Alexus

It’s time again for Bus Stop Interviewthat thing where I visit any bus stop along the ‘Cullough and ask people what they’re doing there.
busstop2
Today we meet Alexus, a straight-shooter born and raised in SA.
alexus

This interview was recorded and then transcribed. What I have below are the word-for-word highlights of our interview. How will you know it’s word-for-word? You’ll just have to trust me.

The ‘Cullough:
What is your name?
Alexus: My full name?

The ‘Cullough: You can just do your first name.
Alexus: Alexus

The ‘Cullough: So what brings you to the bus stop?
Alexus: I was just at the behavioral health center.

The ‘Cullough: Oh cool, awesome. Does your family live in San Antonio?
Alexus: Yes

The ‘Cullough: For how long?
Alexus: My whole life.

The ‘Cullough: Nice. How old are you…if I can ask?
Alexus:Twenty

The ‘Cullough: OK, nice. What’s there to do for 20-year-old people around here?
Alexus: I’m pregnant.

I told you she was a straight-shooter.

The ‘Cullough: Oh, cool, congratulations! Do you know boy or girl yet?
Alexus: It’s a boy.

The ‘Cullough: Do you have any name ideas?
Alexus: Jayden

The ‘Cullough: OK, I like that. Got a baby-daddy in the picture or….?
Alexus: I do better alone.

The ‘Cullough: You got family?
Alexus: Well I do but I don’t really speak to them.

The ‘Cullough: OK, cool. Well…baby Jayden. That’s awesome. OK, one more question: red sauce or white sauce on pasta?
Alexus: Red.

**********

If you don’t know what an SIW is, it stands for Strong Independent Woman. My friend explained this to me when she gave me a flask with SIW written on it in sharpie for my 19th birthday. Right now that flask smells like either mint or bourbon. Can’t decide.
SIW

You know how I know Alexus is an SIW? First off, I learned later while we were facebook chatting that she was literally born on the ‘Cullough—at Metropolitan Methodist Hospital. The ‘Cullough doesn’t birth babies who grow up to be waffling bystanders in this life. Nope. Second, Alexus was so kind and well-spoken during our chat, in a very unassuming way. I think people will give her a second glance once they strike up a convo with her. And they’ll respect. Third, any woman, 20 or 40, who is ballzy enough to tell a perfect stranger (me) that she’s pregnant with maybe no support from the father or her family, probably is an SIW.

I’m not saying she is going to rip and roar through life without struggles or mistakes, but I think she is SIW enough to face challenges nose to nose. Only time will tell.

Cheers to the SIWs (and SIMs!!!) out there!

Leave a Reply

