Ode to One-Pump Valero

ValeroAt first, I thought you were broken. To the casual passerby, your one lonely pump looks dejected, forlorn, and out-of-service. One single pump. This is the stuff of ghost towns long abandoned. But you’re not in a ghost town. You are at the corner of McCullough and Ashby, a mile from the heart of downtown San Antonio. The first time I used you, I was afraid.

But I had no choice. It was on the way to work and I needed gas in the worst way. So I pulled up to the pump, timidly. I got out of the car and looked at the screen on the side of the pump. It looked like it worked. Asking for God’s protection, I quickly slid my debit card through the scanner. Again, it looked like it worked. I began filling up my car, and the rest is history.

That was months ago, and now One-Pump Valero and I have become fast friends, true bosom buddies. It’s where Roy and I purchased one of Angelina Jolie’s most famous laugh-out-loud comedies, The Changeling. It’s where I go to get my day-after-spurs-win free cup of coffee. It’s where you’ll always find a full-stocked freezer of Blue Bell half-gallons AND pints. And it’s where a homeless told me he couldn’t eat apples because he had no teeth.2008_changeling_008

So here’s to you One-Pump Valero—-may your quiet solitude and full freezer always remain a beacon of hope for antsy Cobalt Club patrons and me.

2 thoughts on “Ode to One-Pump Valero

  1. Pingback: Goat tequila, hot goss, pho, footlong | Life On The 'Cullough

  2. Pingback: Spotted: Girls huddling around ice cream cooler | Life On The 'Cullough

Leave a Reply

